Problem with Game Trees files

Questions and answers for COW Macintosh and Windows
Post Reply
rekh
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:07 pm

Problem with Game Trees files

Post by rekh »

I recently purchased COW Pro and have a problem with my install. When the program loads I get two consecutive popup messages relating to the two files in the Game Trees folder. They are :
"There was a problem loading the GameMaster tree file from C:\Chess Openings Wizard 2016\Game Trees\Pedigree2600.GMT"
and
"The ECO Master descriptions file could not be found here: C:\Chess Openings Wizard 2016\Game Trees\ECOMAST.4MD"
Both files exist in the specified folder and are of size 34,536kb and 1,368kb respectively. No other files exist in the folder.
Should I reinstall the program or can I download uncorrupted versions of the files somewhere?
FreeRepublic
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:31 am

Re: Problem with Game Trees files

Post by FreeRepublic »

I'm a fellow user.
My directory structure is a little different. It starts:
C:\Users\Myname\Documents\Chess Openings Wizard 2016

I have another folder for the older Chess Openings Wizard. If you have a folder for "Chess Openings Wizard 2016" then you should use that version. Don't be misled by the name, it is newer than 2016.
rekh
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:07 pm

Re: Problem with Game Trees files

Post by rekh »

Yours is similar to my actual directory structure, I just shortened the path for readability.
jws555
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 9:51 pm

Re: Problem with Game Trees files

Post by jws555 »

Hello, rekh!

Some questions for you:

Assume you're working with with COW 132 and Win 10, Correct?

After getting the two pop-up messages, does COW continue to its opening window or does it halt?

If it does proceed to the opening window, you can tell the program the locations of Pedigree... and ECOMAST... by
selecting 'File/Preferences' on the opening window and clicking on the 'GameMaster' tab in the 'Preferences' window
that opens. Two buttons labeled 'Choose GameMaster File...' and 'Choose ECO Master FIle...' allow you to find these
files and tell COW their location.

If program halts, then a reinstall is a reasonable thing to try. The sizes and locations you gave are correct.
Don't know why you are getting the error messages.

Regards,
John
rekh
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:07 pm

Re: Problem with Game Trees files

Post by rekh »

Hi jws555, your suggestion helped me figure out the problem. I found that the program was pointing to directories for the admin user, so I copied the files to the correct user and it is now working fine. Thanks for your help.
jws555
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 9:51 pm

Re: Problem with Game Trees files

Post by jws555 »

Glad you got it fixed. Enjoy!

Regards,
John
Post Reply