Purging orphaned positions?

Questions and answers for COW Macintosh and Windows
Post Reply
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Purging orphaned positions?

Post by TomR »

Is there a command to purge positions that are not connected to the initial candidate moves? Basically garbage collection for unreferenced items?

There are cases where I've entered a line incorrectly and of course I can fix that by deleting the initial candidate for that line but I'm a little paranoid that maybe in the future I transpose back into the unwanted line and not notice. I know I'm being paranoid but it would also be nice to purge unreachable position so that the "About This Book" has the correct position count too.
manassasguy
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:28 pm

Re: Purging orphaned positions?

Post by manassasguy »

Mike addressed this question in the "Five Positions a Day Challenge" Facebook post on Feb 13th. I think he also addressed it during one of the videos, but I'm not sure which one. Below is cut and paste response from Facebook post:

Q: I have a book that shows 82 positions and 76 trained. I reset training and trained all it offered me, and it says the same thing. What's up?

A: This is easily explained if any moves have been deleted. The positions that are cut off (by removing the moves that training needs to reach them) are still in the database.

Q: ah. Okay, thanks, Mike. Is there a way to find the orphans and delete them, or would I have to rebuild the database from scratch to rid myself of them? If the latter, btw, please consider enabling the former as officially in your suggestion box.

A: Ya know, I could make an automatic process for this. The manual process is to open a new empty ebook and import (not "Add") the contents of the ebook you wish to prune. It will only import portions that can be reached from the starting position (and optionally from named positions which allows for pruning endgame and tactics ebooks).
manassasguy
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:28 pm

Re: Purging orphaned positions?

Post by manassasguy »

Also, I believe the Import function is only available in the Pro version. I vaguely remember this from the video, and Import is only listed for Pro version in the COW comparison chart.
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Purging orphaned positions?

Post by TomR »

Ah, Thanks manassasguy! I'll do that.
FreeRepublic
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:31 am

Re: Purging orphaned positions?

Post by FreeRepublic »

manassasguy wrote: Mon Mar 01, 2021 10:10 pm Mike addressed this question in the "Five Positions a Day Challenge" Facebook post on Feb 13th. I think he also addressed it during one of the videos, but I'm not sure which one. Below is cut and paste response from Facebook post:

... The manual process is to open a new empty ebook and import (not "Add") the contents of the ebook you wish to prune. It will only import portions that can be reached from the starting position (and optionally from named positions which allows for pruning endgame and tactics ebooks).
I expect that would take a long time on a large file. Perhaps it would be an overnight process. My computer would probably fall asleep and abort the effort! I think I will just live with the orphaned lines instead.
Post Reply