Excluding candidate moves from training?

Questions and answers for COW Macintosh and Windows
Post Reply
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by TomR »

I'm looking to use COW to build my opening repertoire but I also want to document moves that need to be avoided or are dubious. However, if I do that then the training feature will include the "bad" moves too. Is there a way to exclude candidate moves from training mode?

If not, is there any possibility that such a feature might be added in the very near future? It could be something as simple as selecting an existing color code (red, yellow, green) to train against or adding a new "exclude from trainer" flag.
MikeAtBookup
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by MikeAtBookup »

Hey Tom,

Currently the only way to limit the moves for "your" side in training is to select to only allow the top-most candidate move. Naturally you'll want your "opponent" in training to be able to play all the available moves so that you'll be tested in the dubious responses too.
-------------------
Mike Leahy
:geek: Head Geek at bookup.com
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by TomR »

Yes, it would only apply to the side that is training, not to the opponent's moves.
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by TomR »

Again... Pretty please have an option in the training dialog to only consider candidate moves that are marked green, a.k.a Go! And of course I'm only talking about "my" candidate moves and not the other side's moves.

With that feature I can use just one ebook to both work on my respective openings and use as my repertoire trainer.

Currently I have:

My White Workbook
My White Repertoire
My Black Workbook
My Black Repertoire

and have to manually synchronize the repertoire books when I make changes to the workbooks. With the selective feature I can drop the repertoire books altogether.
MikeAtBookup
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:02 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by MikeAtBookup »

This is a good idea.

I would think that, for most of us mere mortals, that just one (the top) candidate is all we'd want to prepare for each opening position but it seems you want multiple choices. :)
-------------------
Mike Leahy
:geek: Head Geek at bookup.com
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by TomR »

MikeAtBookup wrote:I would think that, for most of us mere mortals, that just one (the top) candidate is all we'd want to prepare for each opening position but it seems you want multiple choices. :)
Good point. I totally overlooked that option - "User must play top candidate" . How simple. Sorry for the noise.
TomR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Excluding candidate moves from training?

Post by TomR »

Looking back I see I didn't understand your original reply where you did actually explain that option. I didn't know the product well enough to put 2 and 2 together then. Funny that.
Post Reply